デブ活 [debukatsu]

July 8, 2015 at 2:00 pm (general, otaku word, slang)

It’s unavoidable. From time to time, we have a turning point. How many turning points do we have? Okay let’s see…select school you enroll, job hunting, and spouse hunting…yes, whenever you do something like this, lots of trials or hardships come to you. That’s so stressful.

Bd7bcPMCQAEUpIH

Nozomi is engaged in debukatsu.

However, there is a pretty easy trial. Just keep eating, KEEP EATING! So you will get fatter and fatter. Nothing to think about. Go on eating. That is デブ活[debukatsu]. デブ[debu] is fat or fat-ass, and [katsu] stems from 活動[katsudou] or activity. Before I mention デブ活, I shall explain proper terms which we use [katsu].

就活[shu-katsu] or job hunting is the most common to use [katsu]. 就活 origins from 就職活動[shu-shoku katsudou] at right. 就職[shu-shoku] means to get a job or being employed. Other terms got coined from this.

婚活[konkatsu] or spouse hunting. I think I have already introduced this before友活[tomokatsu] means mate hunting. Makes me laugh a bit because it sounds like it so difficult to make friends. [tomo] stands for 友達[tomodachi] or friend. Normally, you get in a new class, and start to say hello to your next guy so you will be surrounded by some other classmates. Should be a piece of cake. But, not necessarily. Some people can do it easily, others can’t. Even that, unless you move, no friends come to you. That is why you need to do action named 友活[tomokatsu].

debu

This is Debu Live, not Love Live (warai).

So what does デブ活 mean anyway? Pretty simple. That is an abbreviation of デブになる活動[debu ni naru katsudou] or action to get fatter. What’s the point? This is irony for oneself. For example, a friend of yours is trying to go on a diet. She always saying like, “Oh I need to lose weight for this summer!” But next day, she is uploading some pics of lots of sweets or beef on twitter. Yes, she is engaged in デブ活[debukatsu]. You point out like, “hey! You said you want to lose your weight, didn’t you?” She would even say like, “yes but I am engaged in デブ活[debukatsu].”^^ She is not willing to go on a diet in the first place.

But do not say debukatsu to your friends because this is irony. Only those who are actually engaged in debukatsu can say debukatsu. Or else, I might say like, “hey! Why don’t we do デブ活 tonight?” which means let’s get a pizza and beer or something like that.

8 Comments

  1. empoleonmega said,

    Another post \ o /
    Interesting, I never had encountered me with these terms derived from “活動” was a good learning xD.
    No doubt the “友活” is an arduous task. “婚活” is the Pro level of the game.

    活動 reminded me of 帰宅部活動記録, I hope it have another season *-*.

    Thank you for a most interesting post, bangin-san!

    PS: The link “before” is redirecting to the editing interface ^^.

    • bangin said,

      Oh shoot, I corrected the link. Thank you for pointing out! I think it should be okay now.
      Yes, 活動 means a club activity. 帰宅部 has actually nothing to do anyway.^^ Just going home is 帰宅部活動.

  2. Hinano said,

    I am so glad to see you posting on your blog again!!
    おかえり゚+.(◕ฺ ω◕ฺ )゚+.

    • bangin said,

      Hi HInano!! Thank you for coming! I am so glad you are still on the net! ただいま!

  3. Anonymous said,

    Hello, Mr. bangin!

    I hope life is good for you!

    I found your blog while you were inactive (in 2014). It has been a useful resource.

    One of my favorite posts on this blog is one in which you talk about why you cosplay. You said that good cosplay, good cosplay photography, etc. require love, and what you said has remained with me. This is what I have learned from you. I want to do things with love.

    Thank you for the posts you have written!

    Good luck to you in the future!

    • bangin said,

      Oh hi! Thank you for coming!!
      And I really want to say thank you for your comment about my cosplays! My cosplays are not so interesting because the costumes I put on are mediocre. But whatever you wear doesn’t matter to your cosplays. The thing is, how you express your love towards the character you cosplay.
      Please come again!

  4. rewhowe said,

    Bangin様!
    お疲れ様です!
    数年前からbanginさんのブログを読んでいます。本当にありがとうございます。よく勉強になりました。
    今年、日本に引っ越ししました。banginさんから覚えてもらった単語を便利でよく使っています(ちょっと意外にw)。
    ありがとうございます!
    (ダメな日本語ですみませんでした、まだまだ勉強しなくちゃいけないのです)

    • bangin said,

      こんにちは!日本に来ているのですか??とても日本語がお上手です。留学生さんですかね?
      とてもおたくっぽい日本語しか紹介していないですが、ありがとうございます^^

Leave a comment