てへぺろ [Tehepero](๑≧౪≦)てへぺろ

December 3, 2013 at 11:18 am (doujin(同人), general, otaku word, slang)

 Hi everyone. Oh no, I have left my blog for too long. I even forgot to write in English! Does anyone help me with my terrible English? My blog has been 終わコン[owacon], you know. So many nice comments from the viewers! What am I doing! I’ve got to do something!

 Let’s get going, anyway. I swear myself that I could post one or two more topics to introduce a new word. Today I gotta introduce…let’s see…

tehepero2

 What about てへぺろ[tehepero]? I know most of you guys are frowning because this term has been already in the mainstream. Well, let me explain even that. If you can type てへぺろ, please do that. Maybe you would see some emoticons like (๑≧౪≦) or (。・ ω<)ゞ. てへぺろ itself has no point, but this is to express how shyly you are smiling at yourself. Especially this is mostly used when you goof up or make a tiny mistake. When you spill water, what would you do? When you accidentally put the papers through the shredder, how are you going to remove your blush? Let’s smile shyly and stick out your tongue.

 てへっ[tehe] is to describe such a shy smile in order to cover your mistake. I think you can see this in shoujo manga or something like that. A pretty girl is smiling with てへっ. Also, please watch out. If she sticked out her tongue, you could see ぺろ[pero] written next to her. Both are onomatopoetic words. てへぺろ is a hybrid of these two words. So if you cover your mistake, let’s say (。・ ω<)ゞてへぺろ♡. Don’t be shy.

tehepero

 So who started this term? Yes, her name is Youko Higasa[日笠 陽子], who voices Mio in K-ON! In the radio program she featured, she used to say てへぺろ. The other seiyus started to copy that, and then most K-ON fans followed that…eventually, てへぺろ got in to the mainstream. Today, even non-anime fans are using てへぺろ. In 2009, てへぺろ was at the top of the current words among anime fans, but this has been common among general people 2011 onwards.

 What? Only young and cute girls can use it? Don’t say that. Once again, don’t be shy! If you softly knock your forahead with てへぺろ, that would be much better.

5 Comments

  1. kloadheart said,

    Waii~
    It’s been so long since I last been here @_@
    I suddenly remembered you when I planned on doing a Shinpachi Nagakura cosplay for this one anime convention this year with my friends. Hope you’re doing well! ^^

    Also, do you have a Facebook? 😀

    • bangin said,

      Thank you! I am doing well!

  2. Irene said,

    Please be alive, bangin-san.

  3. Isekai Trip no Wakiyaku datta Ken – Chapter 29 - Dokuganryū TL said,

    […] “I made the face of a girl in love teehee1.” […]

Leave a comment