[Cosplay] Rainbow -Nisha rokubou no shichinin-

May 25, 2011 at 1:19 pm (cosplay(コスプレ))

 

 I must say sorry because so many of you don’t know about this anime. As you may know, some of my cosplays are too minor such as Antique Bakery, or Fullmoon wo sagashite. Even though there are so many fans, most cosplayers don’t cosplay a character from such a minor series. But I do. This is why people say I am rare. Anyway, my favorite series are Mirage of Blaze, sweet pool, and Hakuouki…yes, they are for otome or fujoshi. But this time, how come I love Rainbow-Nisha rokubou no shichinin-[二舎六房の七人] that is neither shoujo manga nor BL series? Besides, this is not even from Shounen Jump, but a weekly magazine named Young Sunday.

 This story’ setting is in the early of 1930’s when it was a bit after Japan was defeated in the war. The leads are seven delinquent young boys in the jail. Even though they are having a lot of terrible times, they strive to live on for their own. Sometimes it is too painful to see as the boys are hit by the mean guardman or get sexually hurt by the doctor. But even in such a hell, they never give up and face to the reality. No matter how hopeless it is, they belive in each other and keep going…I don’t even remember how much tears I shed while I was watching this anime. Maybe I tend to love a jail thing such as Shawshank Redemption, Prison Break, or Lucky Dog. Yes, including this anime. Anyway, I decided to cosplay him.

 He is Minakami Mario, called Mario by his inmates. In fact, he doesn’t seem to be the lead first as this anime has two parts. Mario is actually the hero in Part 2. I shouldn’t give away any spoilers, so I can’t say why Mario becomes the hero. I would be very pleased if you could try this anime.

 This series is minor, so almost no cosplayers do this anime…but it’s fine. I just cosplay who I want to cosplay. Popular or not, it doesn’t really matter. The thing is, I love it or not. Having said that, I am still lucky as a friend of mine likes this anime. I asked him to take my Mario cosplay, and did this photoshooting together. This cosplay requires such a old-looking spot because the setting is in the early of 1930’s. But my friend found a perfect spot for this cosplay. I think it really fits! Enjoy. 

Make sure you never be seen. Run! Don’t get caught!

Mario…don’t give up now. There’s still hope for you…

We can go anywhere.

Series: Rainbow -Nisha rakubou no shichinin-[二舎六房の七人]

Character: Minakami Mario[水上真理雄]

Cosplayer: bangin

Photographer: Muen Kashi, Tadano Genzou

29 Comments

  1. Filip said,

    Oh. I’m kinda speechless… *A*
    Let me say this – something inside me just screamed [キャ~!かっこいい!]. I can’t do this aloud, because I don’t want do give my flatmate a heart attack : D
    I’ve never seen this anime, but now I think I’m going to, once the summer break starts.
    Even though, the cosplay itself looks fantastic, especially the last photo. Oh dear, its going [キャ~!] again ^^;

    • bangin said,

      Thank you!
      I really love this anime, so I would like to share with you.
      Although it is less famous, it is worth trying!

  2. azu-chan said,

    Kyaa!!! I think this really looks cool!! *A* I love the clothes you’re wearing too and the hat…. XD
    You make me want to watch this anime.. lol.. well, maybe but not now.. I’m going to be busy from next week.. ^^;;

    GJ! (>w<)b

    • bangin said,

      Thank you!
      Please try this anime after things cool down!

  3. Arikoto said,

    WOW after such a long time 😀
    Nice to see your new entry. Good work!

    • bangin said,

      Thank you!
      I will update my blog so soon!

  4. Columbine said,

    :O I love this anime! It’s funny, many people actually think that this anime is BL because it has ‘rainbow’ in the title and avoid it. 8[ I think ‘Rainbow’ is a really powerful story, and I’m happy to see it has fans who cosplay it too.

    But… don’t go to jail, Bangin-san, you’d get really beaten up for sure. :C

    • bangin said,

      Oh thank you! Finally I could see the fan who loves this anime! Yes, sometimes this anime is wrongly regarded as BL. XD
      Maybe there are very few Rainbow cosplayers.
      Nah I won’t go to jail. ^^

  5. Miki Fang said,

    I really like the pictures you took! They have a very nice anime look to it. ^^ I like doing cosplay from not very well known series too, because not many people do that character/series, it makes it more fun to do.

    • Miki Fang said,

      ps. it’s ‘mochie’ here. but since wordpress can connect with facebook now, it’s just under my real name now haha.

      • bangin said,

        Yep, I know it’s you.^^
        Almost no one knows this anime, but that is why I would be very happy when someone speaks to me about this!

  6. az said,

    great photos, bangin-san! I like that one where you were bumping your head on the wall or something…

    erai!

    • bangin said,

      Oh az, sorry about my late response. Haha, this place is a bit danger.

  7. Ginger said,

    What great pictures and a fine representation of the character. Congrats!

    • bangin said,

      Oh Thank you very much!!

  8. ponytale said,

    Definitely didn’t expect this 🙂 The location looks so much like the setting! Its interesting to discover these new places for photoshoot, isn’t it.

    The ‘old’ photograph lighting of the first few photos enhances the nostalgic atmosphere of the time period very well. If they did a live-action version of the anime, it probably looks exactly like your cosplay ^^

    Unfortunately I stopped watching after the episode where the boys carved their dreams on the tree. Got too busy 😦 I’ll try to catch it again.

    • bangin said,

      Thank you ponytale. Yes, I needed this kind of place to create such a mood for this series. Considering when this story happens, such an old and murky spot fits.
      Ah I think you stopped just after the boys came out of the jail.

  9. [Cosplay] Rainbow -Nisha rokubou no shichinin- | Anime said,

    […] Japanese words of anime fans, by anime fans, for anime fans Posted in Anime Tags: Cosplay, Nisha, Rainbow, rokubou, shichinin « The Worldwide Model You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site. […]

  10. kinosakata said,

    It’s a perfect Mario!

    • bangin said,

      OMG, you know this anime!? Thank you!

      • kinosakata said,

        Yes I do! I think ti’s one of the best I’ve seen xD
        Your basically the first person I know to have watched this.

      • bangin said,

        Thank you very much!
        I really love this anime.

      • kinosakata said,

        The feelings mutual xD
        I hate how underrated this show is though…

      • bangin said,

        Yes, I wish this could be in the majority.

  11. cosplay said,

    I was more than happy to find this web site. I need to to thank you for your time for this particularly wonderful read!! I definitely appreciated every bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new things on your web site.

  12. Sid said,

    Dude it’s set in late 1950’s post world War 2

  13. Fandom de RAINBOW 二舎六房の七人 – KERNEL PANIKK said,

    […] Y aunque pensaba que no iba a encontrar cosplays de RAINBOW , resulta que estaba equivocada. Aquí tenéis a Bangin [バンギン], un valiente cosplayer japonés que elige lo que se pone en función de lo que lo emociona, no lo que es popular. Hay más fotos de su cosplay de Mario en su blog […]

  14. deartotheheart said,

    Such an astounding and over looked series, I’m really grateful to find such lovely photos of one of the noble characters and to find someone who appreciates it as well! Thank you so much 🙂

    Speaking of over looked series, if you like these too or if you haven’t seen them before, I highly recommend: Baccano!, Nightraid 1931, Sakamichi no Apollon, Monster (by Naoki Urasawa), Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu, etc.

    • bangin said,

      Oh thank you for coming! I am quite pleased to hear you say that. I really love this anime. I have cosplayed Joe as well in fact.
      None of them you recommended I have watched. I will do try!

Leave a comment