男子校カフェ [danshikou cafe]

December 27, 2007 at 6:37 am (general)

キターーーーーーー(゜д゜)ーーーーーーーーーー!!

 It’s a bit too late to announce now, but a while ago, a friend of mine told me about this. In one of the most fashionable town in Tokyo, Harajuku[原宿], an interesting themed-cafe has opened…this is it, 男子校カフェ[danshikou cafe]. As you can imagine, this cafe is a boys’ high-school style, and all the waiters get dressed as a schoolboy. Simply, I think this is a kind of spin-off of a butler cafe, I mean, for female otakus only. Having said that, the only thing I don’t get it is why this cafe is located in Harajuku. Harajuku is pretty popular among young general people(non-otaku folks). So if this cafe is aimed at female otakus or fujoshis, it should be in Ikebukuro[池袋] or Nakano[中野] where a lot of female otakus shop around. Is this for not only otakus but general people? According to the resourse, the concept of this cafe is a boarding school, so it should be away from the place where a lot of themed cafes are such as Ikebukuro or Akihabara. At any rate, they seem to hire handsome boys only because all the candidates have to pass several interviews…

 Umm, I know there are a couple of maid cafes which have a specific theme such as 妹系 or ツンデレ系. So then does that mean there could be the same thing in such a danshikou cafe? Oh no, there has to be a オレ様系[ore-sama-kei], ショタ系[shota-kei], or 小悪魔系[koakuma-kei]? It could be the real Ouran High-School Host Club, couldn’t it? 

 You can go to the official website here (in Japanese).

9 Comments

  1. bi said,

    Ahahahah, I’d love to know how they would explain to the waiters how to act like an ore-sama kei or a koakuma kei!

  2. bangin said,

    Yes, I am curious about that. Are those waiters sure that most customers are actually female otakus? The location is not such an otaku town, so they might think most customers are general girls…

    Anyway, there must be one メガネ系(megane-kei) who has to wear glasses. 🙂

  3. Wabi Sabi said,

    Did you get a Gmail account? If not, get it NOW!

  4. khursten said,

    Ah! I’m sure that before they step out they already have their characters written down. Because usually in butler cafes, they already get their ‘assigned’ characters before they start serving their customes. :3

    I actually wouldn’t wonder if they serve outside otaku-town. There was one show wherein they showed a butler cafe and there was a kogal inside. I’m thinking if there are kogals in it, then anybody… any girl could have an 乙女心. Ne? :3

  5. bangin said,

    Wabi Sabi: Now I just made it and mailed to your account.

    khursten: Yes, anyone would prefer bishounen(and let’s say イケメン(ikemen) in general Japanese). I also wonder how those fujoshis feel if there are a lot of kogals inside…In Harajuku, it sure happens!

  6. w said,

    I’ll bow down to the mainstream acceptance of butler cafes if I see obvious スイーツ(笑) in there. Maybe.

    I don’t think the guys are all that bad-looking but somehow I think I’d just never feel comfortable being in one, especially since I’m obviously foreign-looking… D:

  7. bangin said,

    Yes, they have a lot of スイーツ in there, and I know next to the certain butler cafe, there is an extra shop where you can buy them. Because a butler cafe usually requires a reservation, you can have nice スイーツ with no reservation. The poor thing is that there is no chance to see handsome butlers. 😦 I think that is for people who want スイーツ only. 🙂

  8. Neohybrid_kai said,

    Oh wow ^^
    I wonder if there is a girl high school version?
    but one thing that I like from fujoshi world is that their taste usually more refined and elegant than akibakei otaku but this is just a matter of preference I think (since I don’t like maid chara lol) I wonder if there’s also an oujo-sama cafe, lol

  9. bangin said,

    Yes, I still remember a girls’ school style cafe in Akihabara. And the cafe is decorated as a classroom. And I am not sure about oujo-sama cafe, but I know an imouto-kei cafe. All the waitresses shall address you お兄ちゃん(onii-chan). 🙂

Leave a comment