クーデレ[coo-dere]

October 1, 2007 at 6:09 am (otaku word)

  

 I have introduced a spin-off term of ツンデレ[tsundere], ヤンデレ[yandere] a while ago, but I found another one, so I shall introduce here…that is クーデレ[coo-dere].

 If she is usually so cold to you and sometimes becomes so nice(sweet?) such as Suzumiya Haruhi, she would be labelled as ツンデレ. But what if she is so cool rather than cold? And what if such an emotionless girl fawns upon you when she bursts into tears? Yes, she would be a type of クーデレ. クー[coo] derives from cool, and デレ[dere] stems from デレデレ[dere dere] which has a nuance of being so sweet. Speaking of クーデレ girls, I can think of Rei Ayanami[Evangelion], Yuina Himoo[Toki meki memorial], or Mai Kawasumi[Kanon]. If you look at any bishoujo anime carefully, you might find this type of girl.

 Here’s one more, ウンデレ[un-dere]. Though I can’t think of any example, ウン[un] is a casual form of “yes.” I think “yeah” or “yep” would be the closet. To get to the point, this type of girl usually agrees with whatever you say by saying ウン!ウン!Perhaps, she might say like そーだよね~[so-dayone~, “yeah right!”] in order to get much intimacy as much as she could. In other words, she might like you from the beginning. If that’s the case, I could think of Hikari Hinomoto[Toki meki memorial 2] who is a protagonist’s childhood mate.

 Personally, I don’t dislike ウンデレ, but I prefer クーデレ or ツンデレ because the more difficult she is, the more I want to pursue her! Also, which do I like クーデレ or ツンデレ? I like ツンデレ because I want her to speak more. Since she has to be cool, a クーデレ girl usually shuts her mouth up, doesn’t she?  

7 Comments

  1. Hinano said,

    wow a cooldere lol that’s a new one
    In that case I hate the kudere types!
    I wanna slap them accross the head and be like BITCH STOP ACTING LIKE A ROBOT!
    Naturally you can tell I prefer the Asuka over Rei phenomena, aka the tsundere as well =D

  2. Avplaya said,

    The archetype of coo-dere for me is Ayukawa Madoka of Kimagure Orange Road. Have you read this manga? It’s a little old.

    As for un-dere, the term doesn’t really make sense. If they answer yes all the time, how are the the term “un” and “dere” differ? If a girl says yes to you all the time, she is also dere dere to you, no? coo-dere and tsun-dere works because the first emotion is at odds with the dere dere part; that’s what makes them special. Un-dere sounds just like another sweet, nadeshiko-type to me… no need for anther term neh.

    Bangin-dono, this is a off-topic for you since I don’t have your e-mail: do akiba-kei like yourself dare to visit the stores at Otome Road? Do you dare to go inside (the ones for fujoshi, of course)? Maybe you can write a post on the interaction between fujoshi and akiba-kei. Here’s why I wrote this: I found this post by a gaijin comic fan (non-ota) who visted the Animate at Ikebukuro and he doesn’t know he’s in Otome Road! Plus, he took PHOTO inside! He showed fujoshi shopping for Yaoi and Cosplay! I think this maybe the first photos from within an Otome Road shop, so you might want to go check it out if you never dared to go in:

    http://comics212.net/2007/09/19/japan-day-02-ikebukuro-part-3/

    It’s really amazing what gaijin could do if they don’t know much about Japan, no? ^^

  3. Neohybrid_kai said,

    Avplaya: whoa, thanks for the link. Yeah, I agree, like people who don’t care about conspiration theory can live in peace, lol. And good observation about undere ^^

    About the coodere, I once read about mukuchi, does that mean that coodere is a mukuchi who shows her deredere side? Personally I still like tsundere better though. A relationship without conversation is not fun ^^

  4. bangin said,

    Hinano: Yes, I love Asuka! I don’t know what to do if a girl shuts her mouth up all the time like Rei Ayanami. I also wonder if a seiyu who plays such a mukuchi-kei girl could get the same salary as other seiyus.

    Avplaya-san: Natsukashii! That manga is a bit old, but I like any manga around that time such as City Hunter, Cats’ Eye, or High-School Kimengumi. ^^ Madoka is such a delinquent girl, but she becomes nice…Let’s say she is coo-dere.

    I can see your point, un and dere don’t make any difference. Unlike tsundere or coo-dere, undere has no opposition of emotion. But this term exists…

    I have been to Otome Road, of course and I can go inside. But I have never seen a single foreigner shopping around there whereas I can see a lot of foreigners in Akihabara. I wonder how he was allowed to take pictures inside Animate because normally phototaking is not allowed. Anyway, I think he missed one thing…he didn’t take a photo of the butler cafe. ^^ He worked a good job, but if he had known it was Otome Road, he wouldn’t have been there? ^^

    Neohybrid_kai: Yes, coo-dere relates to mukuchi-kei. Though I have never seen Yuki Nagato being so sweet to Kyon, if she did it, she would be labelled as coo-dere. ^^

  5. viva123 said,

    I like coo-dere girls. Their quiet personality makes them mysterious and really cool. Makes you want to get to know them more. Coo-dere girls are really cute when they start show emotions suddenly such as smiling or crying.

  6. bangin said,

    I see your point, so that’s most coo-dere fans feel about it? ^^
    The more mysterious she is, the more her fans want to know about her…and when she shows her emotion all of a sudden, it would be a very moe moment for her fans!

  7. japanese hairy pussy said,

    You need to take part in a contest for one of the most useful blogs
    on the net. I’m going to recommend this blog!

Leave a comment