[Cosplay] Desperado -Gintama(銀魂)-

September 20, 2011 at 3:24 pm (cosplay(コスプレ))

 Typhoon is coming. Because of that, it has suddenly cooled down here. Today, I need to grab a jacket to go outside. What’s goin’on? I don’t like the heat in fact, so well…it’s not bad.

 This year, I have made friends with some cosplayers and photographers. Thanks to them, I could improve my cosplays. You know, I am a man so it is pretty hard to find a photographer because most photographers don’t take guys, but girls. So I bought a better camera, learned how to use, and started to ask out my friends for photoshooting. This is how I could improve my cosplays. But meanwhile, I had been trying to find a photographer who could take my cosplays. First I signed up for such a community where models and photographers could get to know each other. A couple of days later, one young girl named Yoru spoke to me…and that was the beginning.

 She claims herself as an otaku photographer. Not only portraits, but cosplayers she wanted to take, that is why she spoke to me. Actually she is a big fan of Gintama[銀魂]. Her best guy is the main hero, Sakata Gintoki[坂田銀時], and next is Takasugi Shinsuke[高杉晋助]. She wanted to create her work with Gintama, so I wanted to help her. Not help, but create together. I don’t have Gintoki’s costume, and I know I don’t look like him. But there is still possibility I could cosplay Takasugi…so I borrowed his costume from my friend who cosplays Takasugi.

 Yoru and I visited a certain themed village to take Takasugi cosplay. Since we wanted to create such an artwork, I chose the best location. Gintama is a hybrid of fantasy and samurai drama. But sometimes it gets so serious and cool. Such a gap grabs fans’ souls. Takasugi is a mad terrorist. He’s so evil and dark-hearted. Before, he and Gintoki used to be study together. However, he has changed himself since his beloved mentor was killed. Always grinning, and smoking…we never know how he feels and what he desires. He says he wants to destroy this world, but is that what he really wants?

 He reminds me of the song named Desperado by Eagles. Takasugi loves to kill people, and never trust anybody. He never shows the real him and sees people with the icy gaze. How long will he keep fighting? When does it end? What drives himself? We never know. That is why I want to follow him, watch over him. It was so difficult to act him as I have no idea how he feels. But I want to cosplay him again!

Desperado, why don’t you come to your senses?

You’ve been out riding fences for so long now

Oh you are a hard one

But I know that you got your reasons

These things are pleasin’ you, can hurt you somehow

Don’t you draw the queen of Diamonds, boy?

She’ll beat you if she’s able

You know, the queen of Heart is always your best bet

Now it seems to me some fine things having laid upon your table

But you only want the ones that you can’t get…

Desperado, oh you ain’t getting no younger

Your pain and your hunger they’re driving you home

And freedom, oh freedom

Well that’s just some people talking

Your prison is walking through this world all alone

Desperado, why don’t you come to your senses?

Come down from your fences, open the gate

It may be raining, but there is a rainbow above you

You’d better let somebody love you

You’d better let somebody love you…

Before it’s too late…

Series: Gintama

Character: Takasugi Shinsuke

Cosplayer: bangin

Photographer: Yoru

24 Comments

  1. Karie Choo said,

    awesome cosplay! my favourite character from gintama ^_^

    • bangin said,

      Arigato! I like him, too.^^

  2. Animelovers411 said,

    Thats a great post!!

  3. Filip said,

    Waah, it just make you all kyaa~ and whatnot… In every photo, light is wonderfully adjusted, I like how it creates its own atmosphere. Also, the intensely red torii as a background are so perfect.

    Totally off topic, but, are you familiar with “Usagi Drop”? I was watching (and reading) it just recently, and in a moment of enlightenment I saw you as a Daikichi : )

    • bangin said,

      Thank you!
      Usagi Drop? Yes I know that manga and the movie. Matsuyama Ken’ichi stars. But he is not like me, because I have no responsibility like him. ;^^

      • Filip said,

        You think so? Well, I have yet to see the movie, but watching anime and reading manga, I got the impression, that Daikichi isn’t much of a responsible adult. More like overgrown teenager : ) He just took in a child in a spur of the moment. Well, the situation forced him to grow up a bit eventually, but it surely took him long enough. Rin was much more mature than him since the beginning ^^

        A bit of trivia, even more off topic, but oh, well… About 3 days ago, first Polish publishing company that specializes in BL only, started bussiness. Historical event, for sure ^^

  4. Mardy_96 said,

    A Gintama Cosplay!!!
    Fits you perfectly, Bangin-san!
    A great cosplay, as always!

    • bangin said,

      Oh do you know Gintama?
      This anime is not so famous out of Japan.
      I like this character!

      • Mardy_96 said,

        Certainly! But I like Hijikata Toshiro the best! Because he’s the coolest in Gintama and he has the most sexy voice… (Thanks to Kazuya-san:- He’s my favourite seiyuu.)

      • bangin said,

        Haha, I like Hijikata, too. He is cool! I like Mitsuba arc.

  5. Miki Fang said,

    Wah the photos looks so good. I think you suit the character quite well even though you said, you don’t think so. I am envious that Japan has such beautiful scenery to shoot in. In Sydney, there is only 1 place that everyone goes to.

    • bangin said,

      This place is so popular among cosplayers. I sometimes book this place to cosplay.
      Not only here, but some more spots like here exist in Japan.
      But there is no beautiful seashore here like Sydney.

  6. Semsom said,

    Wow, this is really nice. Powerful pictures, as well as the kichiku megane one… Keep up the good work!

  7. Araki said,

    Haha, I just found your blog while looking the word 中二病 up. Very helpful post, thanks a lot! And 高杉コスプレかっこいいっす!でも私も土方さんのコスプレ、見てみたいですね。。。
    Haha easier said than done, but oh well. Thanks a lot! =)

    • bangin said,

      Arigatou^^
      Please wait for more few days, or Hijikata cosplays are coming up.

  8. Dee said,

    Very nice! I don’t read this manga but I love the way you hold the pipe and that fan. And that impression… so aloof, dreamy and full of loneliness(?). Love them: the costume, accessories, the set and the lighting. Great job, Bangin-san! =D

  9. Dream said,

    *deafening fangirl squeal* xD Incredible job!!! I’m not familiar with Gintama but I love your cosplay~<3 my favourite image was: https://bangin.files.wordpress.com/2011/09/dsc_4210.jpg
    ..so beautiful~~

    I love it when you wear yukata ^o^

    • bangin said,

      Oh thank you! The photographer would be happy, too.^^

  10. Dee said,

    Yep, Bangin-san is quite a biseinen, ain’t he? He looks so beautiful and hot… in the yukata. :P

    • bangin said,

      Biseinen? Haha, but I am an actually shabby guy.

      • Dee said,

        No, no… you must have a better opinion of yourself! :)

  11. 我的愛神 said,

    Hi there, just wanted to tell you, I liked this post.

    It was inspiring. Keep on posting!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

