[Cosplay] Cosplay of otomen, by otomen, for otomen

January 7, 2011 at 2:36 pm (cosplay(コスプレ), general, otaku word)

 

 Yes, time is right. I have been waiting for a chance to cosplay this. But before you read this entry, please review what otomen is. This term was born in the same title shoujo manga, Otomen[オトメン]. In this manga, the hero is Masamune Asuka[正宗飛鳥] who is seemingly a gentle schoolboy. He is so popular among other girls because he is so manly and cool. But actually he loves to read shoujo manga, collect cute stuff, decorate his room with that kind of thing. Also, he is good at sewing, and cooking so that he makes a lovely lunchbox and sweets. However, he pretends to be manly in front of everybody else because his mother wants him not to follow that kind of thing. His father left his mother and Asuka because he was actually gay. That is why his mother strongly hopes Asuka is going to be a manly boy. Asuka is not gay, though. But when he has a crush on his classmate, Miyakodsuka Ryo, he is afraid of being the real him. After all, Ryo accepts his otomen side, and they start to date.

 I was really happy to find this manga. This is my Bible! lol The author, Kanno Aya is great as she made such a wonderful term, otomen. The more I read, the more I felt sympathy towards Asuka. No, he is a carbon copy of me. I am the original.^^ Can I claim copyright?

 At any rate, this is my first cosplay this year. I am very happy that I could cosplay him. You know, who else can cosplay him better than me? lol I had a photoshooting with the photographer, NOBORAN. He took me to his favorite spot that fit otomen. If you happen to be an otomen, don’t be shy! Do come out of the closet! Just the way you are, please follow me! Long live, otomen!

Series: Otomen[オトメン(乙男)]

Character: Masamune Asuka[正宗飛鳥]

Cosplayer: bangin

Photographer: NOBORAN

29 Comments

  1. soyokaze said,

    Yes, Aya Kanno is really great~ I’ve been reading Otomen but then Iost track out of it due to school *sighs*

    That is so cute and manly even with the flower on. I haven’t seen cosplayed him yet (to my knowledge).

    • bangin said,

      There is a heart-printed apron, I can cosplay that actually. But this spot doesn’t fit. I think I will cosplay him soon.

  2. tasukihoneybunny said,

    You are the first Asuka cosplayer I have seen. I just started reading Otomen late last year.

    Very Good , Bangin. Wonderful cosplay for the new year!!!🙂

    • bangin said,

      Ahaha, thank you! Otomen forever!

  3. azu-chan said,

    LOL… you are the best person who can cosplay since you’re otomen too..😄 and the Hana to yume really fit in the pictures.. lol..
    the flower is cute… i love the last pic the most!

    huhu.. i should read otomen then… i read the 1st chapter last year but forgot to continue coz lots of stuff.. the manga was great too.. ^^

    • bangin said,

      In the comic, Asuka reads Hana to Mame.^^
      The manga is my Bible! I am sure there are more otomens coming out!

      • azu-chan said,

        😄 seems like you’re into otomen mode.. ^_^ i hope many otomen will come out… i never seen one in RL. otomen are so cool! Long live otomen!
        All Hail otomen! LOL

  4. Filip said,

    Extremely. Cute.
    I have no idea what else could I say ^^

    [Why the hell there are no otomen where I live? Why?! This is so unfair… :<]

    • bangin said,

      I think they are in the closet. Hope they could come out!

      • Filip said,

        I hope so too, but I think it’s pretty unlikely. I suppose the reason is that it’s hard to believe for guys that a lot of girls (me included) actually consider otomen really cool. Something like that.

  5. Hinano said,

    Omg. You should have been the actor in the drama!
    You looks so much more like the character then the guy the picked originally XDXD!
    最高なオトメンだ!!.。゚+.(´∀`○)゚+.゚。

    • bangin said,

      Wahaha, I wanted to act him in the drama! But I don’t have to act maybe?
      Ugh, but I am not good at sewing! lol

      • tasukihoneybunny said,

        They made a drama of “Otomen”?? If so, I will have to go find it subbed online.

        Yah!!!🙂

  6. bangin said,

    tasukihoneybunny: I think you can see some tips from Hinano. She mentioned the drama on her blog.
    http://jphinano.wordpress.com/2009/08/01/otomen-01/

  7. kloadheart said,

    u make me want to read otomen [x

    • bangin said,

      Then please do so!

  8. cinnamon said,

    Oh, I should definitely read Otomen! I’d love it. Bangin-san – adorable make-up, btw, and rad pics! Thanks again!

    • bangin said,

      Thank you, please read otomen! Enjoy the new type of guy!

  9. Charana said,

    😀 yes, makes me want to read it too:D The picture of you sewing the bear is so very cute of you … teehee, when you said you don’t know how to sow makes it even cuter! LoL. Looking forward for the pictures with the heart-printed apron.🙂

    • bangin said,

      I think I will do the heart-printed apron soon!

  10. angelofdevotion said,

    Now I wanna read Otomen too!!!

    Bangin-san, you look totally awesome with silver hair!!! 素敵な!!!
    I think you did a really good job in this cosplay! Long live Otomen!

    バンギンさんのコスプレいつもかっこいい!次のコスプレを待っています!

  11. Invi said,

    My comment is a bit late…I’ve never read this manga, but I think this is a really good cosplay. I think I like these kind of guys, ^^

    • bangin said,

      Otomen are sweethearts. They are not necessarily feminine, but so manly in front of anybody else.

  12. Taiyaki said,

    Great cosplay as always! Masamune Asuka is my role model lol. I’ll look forward to the apron version!

    • bangin said,

      Yes he is an ideal model of otomen!

  13. ponytale said,

    Such a sweet and cute, bangin-san!❤ A great way to start the new year! Love how godd you look with the flower in your hair. I'm tempted to add some extra blush on your cheeks for the manga cover look of Asuka😄

    The soft and bright exposures of the photos gives a very dreamy, shoujo look and feel to the atmosphere. Brilliant! And you're more adventurous now with your eye makeup too! Well-done!

    Ooo~ Heart-printed apron?😄

    • bangin said,

      Oh did you ever know I did make-up more than ever? In fact, I didn’t do much make-up before, but ever since I cosplayed Hakuouki, my friends suggested I should do more. Now I always do eye makeup. Depending upon a charater I cosplay, I change make-up.

  14. Irene said,

    The pink flower was nice touch ^_~ The 5th pic is my favorite.

    Totally unrelated to cosplay but does bangin-san have an mp3 version of this?

    • bangin said,

      Oh no, this is my fav song. But I don’t have an mp3 version of this.><

      I like the 5th photo, too.^^

Leave a Reply

