[Cosplay] Perfume of Love -Mirage of Blaze- [3周年記念スペシャル! ③]

July 22, 2010 at 1:44 pm (BL, cosplay(コスプレ))

 

 If you have followed my blog for a long time, you would know I am a big fan of Mirage of Blaze[炎の蜃気楼], wouldn’t you? Yes, this anime is still my No.1, and no other series can surpass this for myself. I have shown my Mirage cosplay here for a couple of times, however this is too normal to count cosplaying. But once again, this is cosplay for myself. Why on earth do I so love this anime? I don’t know. I am not intersted in 主従萌え[shuju-moe], but even that, I can’t stop love the suit guy, Naoe Nobutsuna[直江信綱].

 Mirage of Blaze is really depressing. It won’t make you happy for sure. There is only sadness, despair, and even madness in this story. No matter how many times they get reincarnated, Naoe finds his master, Takaya and go on loving him. But the master-and-servant relationship never changes, and Naoe can’t have him…Naoe wants to end this, but he can’t…

 Love is sad, and so painful. I think most of the fangirls feel sympathy toward the two guys, so do I. I am still stuck at the world of MoB, and still love Naoe. He is still my No.1 even now. 

 In order to cerebrate this 3rd anniversary, I cosplayed Takaya and Naoe. Luckily, I made friends with a MoB fangirl. She used to be a cosplayer, and would cosplay Takaya. So she helped me with my cosplay. We had a photoshooting at a quiet garden next to the Nou[能] stage. Even though we were annoyed by a lot of mosquitoes, but I really like her work. Since she is a big fan of Naoe, she directed me as she liked. I really enjoyed.

 Let me say this again, I love Naoe. I really do. And I shall dedicate this cosplay to Irene, teko-chi, and azu-chan. Please play the music before you see the photos. Enjoy.

俺は…あいつに見放されるのが、もうこんなに怖いのに…俺の苦しさが分かってんのかよ…!

Naoe…

貴方を…愛しています。

 

Series: Mirage of Blaze[炎の蜃気楼]

Character: Ougi Takaya [仰木高耶], Naoe Nobutsuna[直江信綱]

Cosplayer: bangin

Photographer: Hajime

32 Comments

  1. Yoko-chan said,

    I couldn’t watch Mirage of Blaze because every person i asked, on every forum i’ve searched, they were all saying it has a sad story. I’m one who cries buckets when watching sad parts of animes, so i decided it was best for me not to watch it. Now, however… i think i might give it a try.
    Awesome cosplay just as usual! And i have to congratulate your photographer as well! Great shots!

    • bangin said,

      Thank you very much.^^
      Yes this anime is very sad. You won’t be happy for sure.
      But it is worth trying, I think.
      The photographer has been a MoB fan more than 7 years!

  2. RyanA said,

    Ah good colors, I really like that first photo with the cigarette. Good angle.

    • bangin said,

      Oh thank you very much. In fact the photographer also likes this shot, too.

  3. ponytale said,

    Bangin-san :O you look different… somehow… as Naoe this time. Very magnetic? Do you wear a suit to work everyday? Handsome! 😄 The melancholic expression of the Naoe in the photo with the blue flowers is very beautiful 🙂

    I really like your badass Takaya too cos you captured his look and feel and personality perfectly. (And you look very young and cute …for lack of a better word to describe 😛 ) You know, you’ll probably get stopped at the entrance and your ID checked if you tried to watch an R-rated movie while cosplaying as Takaya. lol~

    Amazing how you brought out these two different characters in one photo shoot. Really enjoyed it ^^ I feel that you have very good chemistry with Hajime-san.

    (btw, pls delete the previous comment =_= I forgot to logout of the previous account ^____^;;;) Thanks so much.

    • bangin said,

      Yes this time, the photographer Hajime-san is a big fan of MoB, and really loves Naoe. She actually set up my hair, and directed me, like look at that way or look up. She quite captures Naoe’s feel well. I have cosplayed MoB, but none of the photographers knew this anime, so this is the first time that I got a fan-photographer! I am very lucky!

      Oh because this is a photo! That is why I look young, actually I am the same age as Naoe now.^^

      Well, I just wear slacks for work. When we work, we have to wear a company’s jacket. I don’t like to wear a suit for work, but I do love to do so for cosplay. lol So I enjoy cosplaying Naoe or Kichiku Megane.

      • ponytale said,

        No wonder! That’s lovely 😀 I think both of you captured the feeling and atmosphere really well cos it definitely came across to me.

        Well, you look like 17 or 18 in that photo as Takaya :O I think even if it is a photograph, not everybody can look it.

        Icic…. Hehe and we enjoy your cosplay as these characters too 😄

  4. Kブログ said,

    うわー!あなたはとても痩せています!( ゚Д゚)
    あなたは本当によく文字をオフに引っ張った。
    私はいつもあなたのコスプレを見るのが好き! ❤

    • bangin said,

      ありがとうございます^^
      コスプレをする前、僕はとても太っていました(笑)

      でもコスプレをしていると、そのキャラクターに似せようとしなくてはいけないので、
      太らないように気をつけているのです。

  5. tasukihoneybunny said,

    I love Mirage of Blaze. I wish there was more anime of it.

    The pictures remind me of why I like the anime.

    • bangin said,

      Oh really? Actually I have the anime DVD which has English audio. That means this was aired in U.S.A., right?

      Yep I copyed a certain scene from the anime, which Takaya holds Naoe’s cigarette box.

      • tasukihoneybunny said,

        I do not know if was aired( did not have cable until I went to college. Dad refuses to pay for TV.) I think they just dubbed it and but it out on the market. Do you have the original collectors art box that came with all 4 discs or a different version of the series? This is the version I have: http://www.animeniacs.com/item/USA0990.html

        I am assuming you have watch the OAV, as well.

  6. azu-chan said,

    oh man.. i have no other words to say except for
    I LOVE YOU!
    for recomending this and doing all this cosplay.. lately, i’ve been spending around these 2 weeks to read all the translaated MoB novels. it was around more than vol 20 and well.. by now, i finished all of them.. who knows how many ml i’ve spent my tears on this.. (especially after takaya remembered naoe is dead part + that lots of sex..T_T it was truly sad.. T_T) i feel like crying again.. Q_Q irl.

    great cosplay.. i’ll probably see this again tomorrow coz thinking about MoB makes me in the verge of tears again.. ^^; needs to clear up my mind before truly enjoying this.. ^^;;

    • bangin said,

      Is there translated MoB novels?! I didn’t know that even the novels were all translated. Yes vol 20 is a turning point, you know.^^ Even the photographer said the same thing as you.

      This is the fourth time I cosplay MoB, and I am sure this is the best since the photographer understands MoB well…when I cosplay Naoe next time, I will ask her again.

      “how many ml” what do you mean “ml”?

      • tasukihoneybunny said,

        Where are the translated novels, please? Are they English translations? I would love to read them.

        Thanks in advance!

  7. Irene said,

    *bawls at the song* Whoever composed this song needs to get an award. It’s one of the saddest song I’ve ever heard. Piano version just makes it sadder. After knowing Kagetora’s backstory, the ending scene just makes me wanna cry. I always think of this as Kagetora’s mourning song. I just find the scene where Takaya speeds off on his bike and a young Kagetora came riding a horse in the background so heart-wrenching. Damn it MoB! Everytime I go near it I get depressed! >_<

    bangin-san, you look really good as Naoe. I like picture #7 where Naoe was looking longingly at the sky and the last Naoe picture. I kept seeing Rukawa Kaede in your Takaya cosplay ^^;;;. Maybe it's because your facial structure resembles Rukawa's. But I love the first black and white picture of Takaya…squee~~ Thank you. You've made my day. If either Viz or Darkhorse pick up MoB novels and translate it into English, my life would finally be complete. 😛

    • bangin said,

      Yes I like this ED soundtrack even though there is no vocal. And do you know the ED song of the OVA series? It is Tears of Indigo by Yamane Mai who also sings the ED of Cowboy Bebop. The song is also good.

      This time, I was directed by the photographer, so the photo you mentioning is also something she made. I like to act Naoe, but what a pity I have to act both. I wish there was Takaya, I could make more works.

      Rukawa? Oh yes because Takaya and Rukawa look like each other. So I can use the same wig.^^

  8. azu-chan said,

    @bangin yep.. there is.. ^^ there is even chinese translated one.. some of the kind people are translating it from japanese-english and chinese-english.. ^^ i really appreciate their translation.. huhu.. when they finally got together, somethig just had to come again. >.< so sad..

    great. coz the pictures really have the MoB feel.. and you as naoe and takaya looks better like them.. ^^ oh i mean, mililiter. volume for water.. ^^

    @tasukihoneybunny yes.. it is english translations.though some of the novels are missing like vol 18, 19 and some others. you have to skip some novels.. but it still worth reading.. especially vol 21.. T_T here are the sites i got them from
    http://www.asphodelshaven.com/translations/mirage
    http://mirage-fan.blogspot.com/
    http://99me.livejournal.com/

    • bangin said,

      I didn’t know that there are even fans who even try to translate the novels. I think I prefer Naoe, so I wish someone could cosplay Takaya. Actually there are a lot of scenes I want to copy from anime. ><

      • azu-chan said,

        huhu.. yep.. translating novel isnt like manga.. yay for the power of MoB! 😄
        btw, thanks for mentioning my name up there.. i appreciate it a lot! ^^

  9. bangin said,

    tasukihoneybunny: Mine is World of Mirage of Blaze which has all the 13 episodes including OVA series. This is from Anime Works.

  10. bangin said,

    azu-chan: Because you are the only one who has followed MoB with my 腐教[fukyou]. 腐教 means to recommend BL related stuff, and brainwash your friend. lol My 腐教 did go well!

    • azu-chan said,

      lol.. i’m the only one? i thought many had been 腐教-ed by you before.. ^^ hehe.. i actually had 腐教 a friend of mine too.. ^__^

      • bangin said,

        How did you 腐教? Other BL series?

  11. azu-chan said,

    sorry.. i just realised this… i recommended MoB to my friend in twitter.. ^^

    • bangin said,

      Keep doing fukyou just like that!

  12. Ursula said,

    OMGWD!!! I love your Mirage of Blaze cosplays!!! I am such a huge fan of this awesome series/manga!! You cosplay both characters so well!! especially Naoe! You captured his expression perfectly!! It would be great to get someone to cosplay Takaya with you. You would definitely get some very interesting shots* especially the hotel scene XD* My friend and I did a Muraki &Tsuzuki cosplay pairing together and it was alot of fun ^^ All the photos of you taken are beautiful but of course I love the Naoe ones the best ^^ I wish I could see this in person or at a convention since I would probably die of happiness 🙂 I look forward to more Mirage of Blaze photos!! Cheers!

    • bangin said,

      I am so happy to hear there is even a Mirage cosplayer out of Japan. And Muraki and Tsuzuki, how rare you guys are. May I see your cosplays?
      Mirage cosplay is so simple that I can cosplay anytime. And I think I will do again soon. Because there are more scenes I want to copy. But the sad thing is that I have to cosplay both. If I had Takaya, I would copy, well, it would be better!

      And again, thank you for coming to this post!

  13. Ursula said,

    No Problemo! Seeing a Mirage cosplayer totally made my day! I wish there were more people cosplaying from it ;__; You should come to a Canadian convention someday and bring your Mirage cosplay! I would join a Mirage of Blaze group if only I could find people to cosplay from it. Here’s a link to my deviantart account that has most of my cosplay pictures including the Tsuzuki ones. I plan on re-wearing Tsuzuki next year and will have a better wig and purple contacts. Again lovely cosplays and If you find a Takaya pls post more pictures! Cheers!!

    http://kimimaro-21.deviantart.com/

  14. bangin said,

    Thank you for the link. And Canada? I used to live in Vancouver. Of course I wasn’t a cosplayer at that time and I didn’t even know Mirage of Blaze.
    I think you could cosplay Haruie(Ayako). lol

  15. nochick said,

    GORGEOUS!!!! I’ve never seen Naoe cosplay before; I love it!!!

    Naoe needs more cosplay love. 🙂

    • bangin said,

      Thank you! No wonder you have never seen since guys don’t cosplay Naoe.

Leave a Reply

