[Cosplay] スラダン世代[suradan sedai]

December 2, 2009 at 2:37 pm (cosplay(コスプレ), general, otaku word)

 There is no integrity in my cosplays because I just cosplay as I like. Even I am not too sure what I am going to cosplay. If I come across someone I want to cosplay, I will do. If I want to cosplay someone I have already cosplayed before, I will do again. A while ago, I cosplayed Yagami Light in Death Note because I suddenly felt like cosplaying him. I think I am really capricious.

 For some reason, I wanted to do Slam Dunk again because I found a white Shohoku uniform at auction. When I cosplayed Slam Dunk for the first time, I only had a red one. I couldn’t help but buy it because I really love Slam Dunk. Because I grew up with Slam Dunk, what’s called, スラダン世代[suradan sedai] or Slam Dunk Generation.

 Well, the time when I used to read it in Shounen Jump was from 1990 to 1996, and TV anime was aired from 1993 to 1996. Of course I followed both. 年は聞くなよ、計算すんなよ。At that time, most of the classmates in my class belonged to the basketball club at school. I am not good at sports so I didn’t, though. Speaking of other popular manga from Shounen Jump around the time, I can think of Dragon Ball and Yu-Yu-Hakusho. But in particular, Slam Dunk follows not only basketball, but school days which we also had. Even though so many years passed since the series ended, I sometimes want to read the comics again.

 Then why スラダン世代? What is so special about this? If you are a descendant from suradan sedai, you could remember some famous words, couldn’t you? The greatest ones are below.

1. 最後まで希望を捨てちゃいかん。あきらめたらそこで試合終了だよ。[You shouldn't give up till the end. If you give it up, the game would be over.]

2. 安西先生…バスケが…したいです… [Anzai-sensei...I want to play...basketball...]

 Ask anybody some famous lines from Slam Dunk, I guarantee most people would answer above two. People from スラダン世代 keep these lines in mind so they never forget. Keep going, never give up. That’s our motto. If you are one, you can say like this: 最後まであきらめませんよ。私、スラダン世代だから。[saigo made akiramemasen yo. Watashi, suradan sedai dakara] or I won’t give it up till the end. Because I am from suradan sedai. 

…And my favorite character in this series is Rukawa Kaede[流川 楓]. Because he is a rare male tsundere, and voiced by 緑川 光[Hikaru Midorikawa]

Character: Rukawa Kaede[流川 楓] from Slam Dunk[スラムダンク]

Cosplayer: bangin

Photographer: Keith

14 Comments

  1. Irene said,

    Now that you mention it, a guy tsundere is rare. Haha, I guess I prefer tsundere guys (anime, not reality). When reading SD, I like Rukawa #1 and Mitsu #2. The rest act like sugar high juveniles. I prefer watching the anime than reading the manga tho.

    Angsty-er facial expression! In the manga, I always thought Rukawa looks like he wants to take a dump XD

    • bangin said,

      Yes most fangirls like Rukawa the most and next is Mitsui. My friend loves Sendou, though. lol

      Rukawa doesn’t speak at all, so I wonder how much the seiyu got paid.

      I think Hiei in Yu-Yu-Hakusho is a tsundere guy.

      • Irene said,

        If the wage was pay per line then the seiyu wouldn’t have earned much I imagine. Sendou is cool but annoying at the same time. I wonder why. It’s funny how he overestimates Hanamichi tho :)

        I am waiting for your next update btw. :3

  2. i-k said,

    Great cosplay photos! Rukawa was my favourite!

    • bangin said,

      Thank you very much.^^ Yes he was my favorite, too.

  3. w said,

    Ahhh! This is the cosplay I’ve been waiting for. You fit Rukawa to a T! Height, body type (long limbs etc – okay, no muscles but who cares, muscles are gross), facial structure, hairstyle, expression… Perfect. :D

    And you were reading Shounen Jump in 1990? ちょっと何これ本当におっさんなのかよ信じられない

    • bangin said,

      I am almost twice as old as Rukawa-kun. lol My friend told me just my long eyelashes are similar to his. And I am too short to cosplay him because Rukawa’s height is more than 180 cm. orz

      Yes, muscles are needed to be a basketball guy. But in 2D, it is not necessary! Maybe if I cosplay Gori(Akagi)…

      僕は当時小学生だったかな?

  4. bangin said,

    Irene: The seiyu who voiced Hiei in Yu-Yu-Hakusho got the same salary as any other casts although his lines were few, I heard. Midorikawa is such a popular seiyu, so I guess he did so.

    I will join the cosplay event next week!

  5. mochie said,

    I really like your Rukawa cosplay. I also grew up watching Slam Dunk but my favourite character would be Hanamichi Sakuragi since back then I was only about 7 or 8 yrs old so hot guys really had no appeal to me and I preferred the funny ones instead. ^^ Ever since I watched Slam Dunk, I’ve wanted to play basketball.

    • bangin said,

      Most cosplayers do Ruakwa, so it is really difficult to find a Hanamichi cosplayer. If I found I would collaborate together for sure. Since Hanamichi is the only character who interacts with Rukawa. ><

      I am not good at sports, so that is why I respect sport guys. I am envy of Rukawa because he even has a lot of fangirls at school.

  6. Yuji said,

    II guess thats what makes the Rukawa moments hilarious. I am imagining in my head Rukawa passing out while he’s riding his bicycle and hitting a car, then escaping like nothing happened: 「....」

    You’re right, Hiei is like that too. I think of the same scenes in my head. The .... scenes.

    • bangin said,

      Even when Rukawa hits a car, he almost says nothing. Even Nagato in Suzumiya Haruhi speaks more than he does.

      But because we hardly have a chance to hear Rukawa’s voice, he is that popular.

  7. rzncu said,

    I think a lot of people grew up with slam dunk, because it aired at different times, I know I grew up with it while I was still in China although after I moved to Canada, I didn’t get to see it in English. ( ^ω^) Rukawa was probably the first guy anime character I liked. (As a fujoshi, I wish you cosplayed rukawa with hanamichi XD)

    • bangin said,

      There is few Hanamichi cosplayers, and if any there are girls. Hanamichi is such a muscular guy, so it is so hard for girls to cosplay him. I wish I had Hanamichi or Haruko.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

