[Cosplay] 遠くへ…

June 18, 2009 at 5:45 pm (cosplay(コスプレ), doujin(同人), otaku word)

 I was a bit surprised when someone noticed my Tosshi cosplay because I was pretty sure Gintama is less popular than any other Shounen Jump-related anime like D-Grayman or something like that. In this way, no matter how rare it is, there is always someone who could notice who a cosplayer is meant to be. So I decided to cosplay him with no hesitation.

sound episode 2

sound episode 2

 This is, as you know, Lelouch in Code Geass. But look, this costume is only found in the cover of Sound Episode 2. If you always download a character song, you don’t have to see how a picture is. So if this cosplay rings a bell to you, it might mean you bought this CD somehow or saw it somewhere…

 At any rate, it is not very unusual that cosplayers try to complete all the costumes of the characters they cosplay in Japan. So there are of course a lot of cosplayers who do this Lelouch. Because they love Lelouch, because here is [ai] or love.

 愛がなくては始まらない。Nothing starts without , especially in this otaku world. If you are just an anime fan or purchase goods, all you need is 萌え[moe]. But if you make a doujinshi[fan-made comic], draw a fan-art, or even cosplay, all you need is . Because you love it, you would like to create it. But remember, sometimes love drives you crazy. If you love it too much, you would go too far and fans might blame you.

 Anyway, I like this costume because it is nice for summer. And it is like a thief or a voyager. I hope I could give you the scent of early summer.

P6170291

ただ遠く 離れても 君が笑うため

P6170248

どこ吹いた 風でした くるり かざぐるま

P6170288

待つことも 恋でした くるり かざぐるま

P6170412

君が沈むまで 僕と沈むまで

P6170414

幸せな夢の中で 綺麗に泳げたの

21 Comments

  1. Karin said,

    Yes! As long as there is love, I will survive. Even if my pocketbook is empty…

    Yay for another cosplay post! Thank you for posting something summer-ish, it is gloomy where I am😦

    Doesn’t hurt to lie on the rock?😀

  2. bangin said,

    Oh so you live somewhere in a tropical area?

    No it doesn’t at all. Those are just pebbles.^^

  3. 子犬 said,

    I was just talking about summer with my mom. I was asking, “What day does summer start?” It is hot where I am, but it feels a bit like spring. But the roses bloom, which means summer! ^_^

    I need to have 愛 and 萌え!

    • bangin said,

      Now it is a rainy season here, so the weather is not good everyday. But the day I cosplayed this was sunny.

      Is it hot in German’s summer?

  4. kesenaitsumi89 said,

    その服、ちょっと女らしいね。でも気に入った。^^

    • bangin said,

      これをコスプレしてるルルーシュのコスプレイヤーは僕以外、全員女の子だった。^^

  5. 子犬 said,

    It is hot in the summer in Germany. It rained here too, but it is already hot the next day! Speaking of summer Johannistag is June 24th.

    • bangin said,

      What is Johannistag?

  6. Muahaha said,

    >.< Awesome. I saw that cd somewhere…though I forgot, but I remember the costume they had…maybe I took a pic of it. I love it when cosplayers cosplay the chara, but with costumes from merchandise…hope that didn't sound confusing.

    • bangin said,

      Thank you.^^ We like to complete whatever a character wears if we really love.

  7. ponytale said,

    Bangin-san… you look very pretty! (^///^) It’s a compliment, hope you don’t mind. The overall effect looks great and the bright-red windmill toy is a very nice touch too.

    • bangin said,

      Ahaha~arigatou!!^^
      Yes, I made this windmill toy for this cosplay. I wanted to make Lelouch more of a voyager in the wind.

      • ponytale said,

        wow~ you even made the windmill too! That’s awesome ^^ love it!

  8. Leslie said,

    I just found your blog and I think it’s fascinating, thank you for writing it! (I found it after reading an article about 草食系男子 and looking for more information, I thought your post was more interesting than the article…) I love your cosplay pictures too, Slam Dunk is one of my favorite series and I think you made a wonderful Rukawa🙂

    • bangin said,

      Oh thanks for coming. Yes I sometimes write about such a trendy word like soushoku-kei danshi since there are also people who want to learn not only anime words but trendy ones.

      And thank you for saying like that for my Rukawa cosplay! I like him the most in Slam Dunk.^^

      • Leslie said,

        Everything you’ve written about has been so interesting, I’m studying Japanese but am nowhere near good enough to figure out these things by context. But for example, now I will never forget what 切ない means and what makes it different from 悲しい!

        I didn’t care much for Rukawa when I first started watching, but then after a while he really started to grow on me, I think when he and Sakuragi were arguing about whose fault it was they lost a game I always liked him after that…

  9. 子犬 said,

    Johannistag is a holiday that celebrates the birth of John the Baptist like how celebrating Christmas is for the birth of Christ. It is similar since many Christmas traditions are based on traditions associated with the winter solstice (like Christmas trees). Johannistag has traditions associated with the summer solstice (Like bonfires.).

    • bangin said,

      Thank you for your explanation. We don’t have such a thing here. It was Father’s Day last Sunday.

  10. mochie said,

    Wow that is really nice cosplay! ^^ The first photo made me think of Songstress Lenne/Yuna costume from Final Fantasy.

    I think it is every cosplayers dream to own all the costumes to their characters, I once wanted to make every single costume from Card Captor Sakura (but there were way too many). For me, if a character i am cosplaying has different outfits, I will try to do the one that not many people cosplay (not because I would be a loser if I did what everyone else was doing haha, but it’s just refreshing to see something different.)

  11. bangin said,

    It seems like a singer character always has a lot of costumes like Yuna or Sheryl Nome. Lelouch actually has more costumes than I thought. The reason why I cosplayed this, not his emperor one is, yep, not because I would be a loser if I did, but I just like it.🙂

  12. bangin said,

    Leslie: 切ない is my favorite word and I always fall for such a character.

    I love the scene in which finally Rukawa and Sakuragi shakes hands in the final game, but it is a very short moment, though.

Leave a Reply

