[Intermission] First Cosplay in 2009!

January 11, 2009 at 1:55 am (cosplay(コスプレ))

 So also this year, I will keep cosplaying. I wonder how long I am allowed to do this kind of thing…Ah, let an ojisan like me to cosplay a bit more! Come to think of it, I wonder what kind of character I have chosen so far? I mean, there are a lot of characteristics like dark, cool, tsundere, or hetare…I think I seemed to have chosen such a dark and evil character like Lelouch, Yagami Light meanwhile I did some cool characters like Rukawa Kaede or Hijikata Toshiro. But remember, since I am not that young, the series I love do not even necessarily meet your taste. Maybe there is a generation gap. How many of you would know Mirage of Blaze[炎の蜃気楼]?

 ranmaru

 I am sorry, but I coundn’t bring myself to stop following Mirage of Blaze, so I decided to cosplay him. He is Mori Ranmaru[森 蘭丸], an evil schoolboy. He is actually a supporting character, but from time to time, he shows in the episode, and makes things complicated. He hypnotizes people, and uses as a puppet. He does not commit anything himself, but makes his puppets do his dirty works. So evil!

 A bit while ago, in order to make a post on Otome Road, I met up with one of my Internet friends, Jared-san. I hypnotizedasked him to be a photographer on the day. Hopefully, he was on it. After we finished Otome Road, we moved to a quiet park to take this cosplay. Thank you very much.^^

dsc01286

dsc01278

dsc01297

 Ougi-sempai…you are really pathetic…Don’t you wanna know the truth?

dsc01334

dsc01306

Look into my eyes…submit your consciousness…I’ll plant a seed of King inside you…

12 Comments

  1. mochie said,

    The first picture doesn’t look like you at all! Maybe it is the angle. But seriously, you are only in your 20s, I know people who are nearly 40 and still cosplaying as teenagers. As long as you take care of your skin, eat healthy and get regular exercise you can probably cosplay for another 10-20 years. haha. Then when you begin to develop wrinkles you can cosplay all the middle aged/old characters.

  2. double said,

    First Lelouch, now this character. You sure like cosplaying charcters that have eye power, don’t you. LOL!

  3. goodyfun said,

    That wig looks very good on you! I like the first and second pictures. “Generation gap”… Well, I’m a nerd of the 90′s at heart. Sometimes I feel like escaping and looking at an old series from then.

    “He does not commit anything himself, but makes his puppets do his dirty work.” That sort of character is often times called “the chess master”. They treat other people like pieces on a board to move around, while they are safe somewhere else. Not all chess masters are evil, however. Albus Dumbledore from Harry Potter is a chess master, for example.

  4. bangin said,

    mochie: I am going to turn 30′s soon. But I have been working out because most men would become either fat or not fat after 30. Cosplay keeps my physique, otherwise, I might be fat. Maybe I will cosplay such a middle-aged character after 30.^^

    double: Yeah right, I am a hypnotizer! Can I hypnotize you?

    goodyfun: Oh chess master! That is well put, then so is Lelouch. He is good at playing chess.

  5. 子犬 said,

    Cool! Mirage of Blaze cosplay! ^^ It does not feel like it is very old for me, because I do not see when it was new.

    When I first saw it the subtitles were in English, but I later found one with German subtitles. It made the part in the one theme song that goes, “Ich habe dieses Gefühl nicht mehr im Griff. Ich kann nicht so tun, als würde es mich kümmern. Halbherzige Versuche, um mein Ziel zu erreichen.” make much more sense and sound much better.

    Oh no! I think I am hypnotized now! (@_@)

  6. jaredinnakano said,

    Haha. I think it is funny you call yourself ojisan. If anything, you are oniisan or onii-kei! And a rather youthful “older brother” at that.

    Speaking as a real ojisan, I wonder if you can recommend some cosplay roles for us older peeps? Are there special roles for ojisan gaijin?

  7. bangin said,

    子犬:Me too, I knew about Mirage of Blaze a while ago, not at the real time. Which part of the song did you mention? I love the OP song. Sitting at the door of darkenss, talking to myself this love will never die, seraching for a trace in silence…

    I want to cosplay this series, but I yet to find someone else. I will hypnotize!

    jared: Yes there are! Jack Bauer in 24.^^ When I get older, I want to cosplay him!

  8. jaredinnakano said,

    Bangin, with the right make-up, you could cosplay ojisan types now. You’d be a great Jack Bauer.

    I didn’t know cosplayers take on TV characters. Can you also cosplay politicians, athletes, and other 3D celebrities?

    Bangin and your readers, I would be most grateful for any other ideas for ojisan gaijin cosplay roles. Are there any other roles that would match my avatar?

  9. bangin said,

    Jack Bauer is more muscular, so I am too weak to be.
    There are a lot of cosplayers who do 3D celebrities like Johnney’s. There are suitable characters for you, but I can’t come up right now. XD It has to be for sure.

  10. 子犬 said,

    The part of the theme for the OVA is what I mentioned. The lyrics in English are like, “Can’t hold this feeling lower. Just can’t pretend to care for halfhearted traps. On a grave and hit the score”. They sound poetic. The songs are infectious!

  11. bangin said,

    Ah, you are talking about the Rebel of River’s Edge. I like the ED song, too. Both of the songs are performed by Mai Yamane. She sang the ED song of Cowboy Bebop. I like her deep voice.

  12. 子犬 said,

    She also sang the song Blue, which is one of goodyfun and my favorite anime songs! “Everything is clearer now… life is just a dream, you know, that’s never ending…” It is so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

