聖地巡礼[seichi junrei]

May 26, 2008 at 6:39 am (otaku word)

 There’s no need to explain this term now since a lot of anime fans actually do this. But I wonder if foreign anime fans who come to Japan to do this know how this action shall be called. Yes, if you really really love the anime, would you like to travel some points where the anime used as a background if the infomation is clear. I know not only my friends but even foreign tourists who happen to be anime fans visit some spots where their favorite anime actually used.

 I have a fujoshi friend who is crazy about the otome game, 遙かなる時空の中で[Haruka naru toki no naka de]. The stage closely resembles for the old Kyoto[京都]. Although most tourists visit 金閣寺[kinkakuji], she (or other fangirls) visit other points where the game actually used like 船丘山[funaokayama]. To her surprise, at those spots, you could buy some goods of the game. So this means a lot of fangirls do the same thing as her.

 Come to think of it, when I went to Korea, I visited Nami Island where the famous soap opera, Winter Sonata used as a filming place. I am not a fan, but I had to go there for some reason. Now that non-otaku people visit such places, no wonder anime fans do the same thing. So to visit the same places as anime (or movie, TV drama whatever) used as a background shall be called 聖地巡礼[seichi junrei]. 聖地[seichi] means a holy place, and 巡礼[junrei] means pilgrimage.

 When my friend, Windbell came to Tokyo a while ago all the way from Singapore, he did 聖地巡礼 for 秒速5センチメートル[byousoku go senchi metoru] in Shinjuku[新宿]. I think this should be easy for me to do since I am working in Tokyo. Maybe at best I could do my 聖地巡礼 for School Days in 神奈川[Kanagawa]. But now it’s not possible since I have no time…

 Now that I mention this term, I know I should do it and upload some interesting photos. However as I have said, I have no time to do it. If I had a chance, I would definitely give it a try. And my ideal 聖地巡礼 is for The Melancholy of Suzumiya Haruhi in Hyougo[兵庫].

  

 

 OMG, I feel like cosplaying out there. Above photos are from this site. And I shall leave some links for other 聖地巡礼. No English site is available, but I think you can enjoy seeing some photos.

 Lucky Star.

 Air.

  So, where would you like to go for 聖地巡礼

 

 

 

24 Comments

  1. Anime Home Planet Blog » Blog Archive » 聖地巡礼[seichi junrei] said,

    [...] Are-are ~ Unlike the other 2,889,999 Google results, we didn’t accidentally type ‘are&#8… wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt [...]

  2. Khursten said,

    Eh! Ii na~~ it’s a nice view of things. And I’m surprised how many of this are unmistakingly so real. I’ve got a little plan of where to go if I want to go to Japan. But this kind of trip must be something fun to consider.

    I might enjoy that byousoku 5 cm. walk. lol. If there was such a walk. lol.

    Beyond this, I’m actually more interested in taking that Ekiben journey. There’s this Ekiben manga about a group of people traveling Japan’s railways to eat Ekiben. I want to eat the featured Ekiben there. lolol.

  3. bangin said,

    I didn’t know you are kind of a 鉄道オタ. lol What’s the manga?
    But it’s not uncommon that foreign tourists get on various trains and eat Ekiben.

    I wonder where the original model of Hinamisawa in Higurashi no naku koro ni is.

  4. Khursten said,

    lol. I’m not really much of a tetsudou-ota but really more of a food ota. o/ Beyond the usual fujoshi stuff and all, I really enjoy reading food mangas and anything related to the process of enjoying and creating yummy food.

    The Ekiben manga I’m referring to is Ekiben Hitori Tabi (I can’t write here in kana gomen) It’s been recommended to me by a friend although I haven’t really read it. When I do get a chance to read it, I’ll try a station or two. lol.

    On the side though, I know Moyashimon’s noudai is based on a particular university… hmm….

  5. bangin said,

    Food-ota! www So you’re kind of a グルメ, aren’t you?
    Speaking of a food manga, 美味しんぼ(anything), バンビーノ!(pasta),将太の寿司(sushi)…but as you know, Yoshinaga Fumi is also a food ota whereas she is a BL manga artist. Antique is a bakery, and 昨日何食べた?tells a lot of recipes.

    Ekiben is an important item for train travellers since it can create a better mood. Don’t forget to eat a boiled egg as well(ゆで卵).

    Rumor has it Moyashimon’s 農大 is based on 東京農業大学.

  6. Ruki said,

    haha… that sounds like me… I am going Venice next month. You can probably guess why xD

  7. Khursten said,

    @Ruki — Will you ride a gondola? lolol. Too bad that most gondoliers there are men.

    @Bangin – I don’t think my rank goes high up as a gourmet, but you can call me a foodie. I have read oishinbo and bambino. I actually subscribe to morning because of Cooking Papa, Kinou nani Tabeta, and Kami no Shizuku. I also read other mangas like Kare- naru shokutaku (Addicted to Curry) and before, Yakitate! Japan. lol.

    I wonder if I can go to restaurants featured in Oishinbo.Although I doubt they do exist.

    On Moyashimon… lol. if it’s based on that university… I really want to visit that place. Hmm… I wonder if I can visit the university featured in Nodame… hmmmm…. Maybe I should research the places where they went. Would you know some of those places Bangin-san?

  8. bangin said,

    Ruki: Venice? I have no idea, why??

    Khursten: This is in Japanese, but try this link. This tells the shooting places in the live-action Nodame.

    Kariya Testu investigates and interviews well, but I don’t think those restaurants really exist though some people are real. XD

  9. Khursten said,

    Wah sugoi!!! Thank you for the Nodame link! I don’t think I can visit the locations for the hometown, but definitely I’ll visit the university and the town! Mukyaaa!! <3 <3

  10. 0ne said,

    I have gone to Soshigaya to pay homage to Ultraman

  11. w said,

    bangin: re:Venice

    Your otaku license is hereby revoked for 3 days! (`・д・´)

    How could you not know about ARIA…

  12. khim said,

    currently I am curious about original model of Yagami area in School Rumble

    I suspect it is based on Keio campus in Yagami, since it has very steep slope in its entrance, there is Yagami shrine and Yagami river near it too, and I also heard rumor that Kobayashi Jin is Keio graduate

  13. bangin said,

    One: No wonder tokusatsu fans do 聖地巡礼! I am curious about where Odagiri Joe said good-bye to the little kids in the final episode of the Masked Rider Kuuga.

    w: Ugh, I finally understand why Ruki is going to Venice. I didn’t know Aria’s background. Ah, me. All I know about Aria is bishoujos riding a gondola. orz

     C-Can I give you the link to Higurashi pilgrimage?

    khim: I only know about the model of the coffee shop where Yakumo works. Did you ever read this?

  14. Neohybrid_kai said,

    While I’m a haruhiist and a big fans of Makoto Shinkai, but the most wanted place I would like to visit is Misuzu’s town (and the visit definitely has to be on summer too!!)
    now I’m curious, can you tell me where’s the exact location? like how far is it from Tokyo?

    Hinamizawa pilgrimage sounds scary ^^;; but maybe I can meet some yandere girl there, haha

  15. bangin said,

    誰よりも~遠くに行っても ここから~また笑ってくれる~?
    瞳を閉じれば ふっと あの海の匂い~♪

    Gao, I will cry out for sure when I get to the seashore where the climax takes place. And of course, Lia’s song 青空 plays there…I will cry cry cry!

    This is in Mihama-shi, Wakayama-ken[和歌山県美浜市], pretty far away from Tokyo so you need to book a room maybe. I haven’t been there.

    I am curious about the live-action movie Higurashi had a filming at the same place as above link.

  16. 千の風 said,

    ― また夏がくる 銀色に光る ―
    ― 水面に写す ふたりぶんの影 ―

    ・ ・ ・ ・ ・ ・

    「もう・・・いいよね?」
    「うん?何がや?」
    「私、頑張ったよね?もう・・・ゴールしていいよね」
    「もう疲れたんか・・・よし、ゴールしたら家帰ってトランプでもして遊ぼう」
    「ううん・・・私のゴール・・・ずっと目指してきたゴール・・・」
    「え?」
    「私、頑張ったからもういいよね?休んでも・・・いいよね?」

    。・゜・(/Д`)・゜・。うわぁぁぁぁん

    さて、俺も美浜町へ行ってくるぞー!

  17. Neohybrid_kai said,

    By the way, does people there speaks like Misuzu’s mom? I like her dialect
    it sounds somewhat funny ^^

  18. bangin said,

    千の風:

    「お母さん・・・ありがとう・・・」
    「嫌や・・・そんなん嫌や・・・あんたに何もかも教わったんやないか!置いてかんといて・・・ウチを独りにせんといて!何にもいらん、友達もいらん、ぜいたくも何もせんでええ!ずっと神尾の家で仲良く暮らそう、な?!美鈴ーーーッ!!」

    うわぁぁぁぁぁん 。・゜・(ToT)・゜・。

    I want to visit there, Wakayama is well known for onsen as well.

    Neohybrid_kai: Good point. Misuzu’s mom’s dialect is Osaka-ben[大阪弁], but actually in Wakayama, there’s the certain dialect which is different from Osaka-ben). So people there don’t speak like her. But some dialects are a bit similar. No one in Air speaks Wakayama dialect in the first place. lol

  19. 千の風 said,

    I still get goosebumps just thinking about that scene, or when listening to Aozora. I think my heart just about broke at the part you quoted above, when Misuzu’s mom breaks into tears ;_; The same thing happens whenever Natsukage comes up on my playlist.

    On another note, it probably doesn’t count as 聖地巡礼, but one of these days I’d really like to go hiking in the mountains in Japan (on an overcast day) while listening to the Mushishi soundtrack. (^^;

  20. Neohybrid_kai said,

    Well I usually listen to town map BGM from Persona 2 or 3, it helps me sets the mood since sometimes I have to walk quite far ^^

  21. bangin said,

    千の風: You can choose your favorite soundtrack when you go for a walk or hiking. Music is important. :) Before I cosplay someone, I always listen the songs which are played in the anime.

    Mountains in Japan? Are you in Japan now?

    Neohybrid_kai: When I get on a bike, I always listen some songs from Gintama. This can clear my irritation. ^^

  22. Animating Japan’s Pilgrimages | Graham Candy said,

    [...] some other examples and discussion of seichi junrei you can check out this blog.   This entry was posted on Wednesday, September 9th, 2009 at 9:37 pm. You can follow any [...]

  23. rzncu said,

    秒速5センチメートル <— if i get to visit japan someday, I will definitely do seichi junrei for this as well!

    遙かなる時空の中で <– I thought more otome would like this game rather than fujoshi, because it's reverse harem XD

    • bangin said,

      I think Harutoki has less BL fanfiction than any other BL games. But it has.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 116 other followers

