[Cosplay] Prince of Tennis

May 2, 2012 at 3:18 pm (cosplay(コスプレ), general, otaku word, slang)

 Hi everyone, it’s been a while again. Spring has come, and it is getting warmer here in Japan. It’s a good thing because it’s kind of easier for us cosplayers to cosplay. I have been cosplaying as usual, and having fun. I wish I could upload photos here blow-by-blow, but I have no time to do so. So that is why I always choose which cosplay to upload here. Of course there was a time I could do well, and the other way around. I would like to upload only things I could do my best.

  A while ago, I found a nice cosplay event around my place. That happened at the indoor studio where had an open-aired tennis court. Tennis court? Yes, the cosplay I did was Prince of Tennis. How many of you know this anime? Even though this manga is from the weekly magazine, Shounen Jump, I doubt this is not as popular as Naruto or Bleach. Can you find this manga in your language?

 Anyway, I asked two friends of mine out for this event as they are big fangirls of Prince of Tennis. At first, I was planning to cosplay Tedsuka Kunimitsu and my friends was going to cosplay Yukimura Seiichi and Sanada Gen’ichirou. But one of the two asked me to cosplay someone else.

“Why don’t you cosplay someone else? I have seen your Tedsuka before. You can use my costumes,” she said. Yes, she cosplays a lot of players from this anime. So I decided to choose him from her costumes.

 Yes, he is Atobe Keigo[跡部景吾] from Hyoutei Academy, which is a big enemy for Seigaku. Atobe is the manager of the team, and he is, as you may know, a really narcissist, but his play is so cool and great. He is always self-confident and calls himself 俺様[ore-sama]. 俺[ore] is the most casual form to mean the first person, and 様[sama] is the politest honorific. So do you see? Since Atobe uses 俺様 to call himself, he is very arrogant. But you know, I think it’s not a bad thing because it is said that most Japanese guys are 草食男子[soushoku danshi]. Maybe it is good that there is one or two guys like Atobe. Don’t say *ただしイケメンに限る.

 While I was changing in the room, I got so nervous because I didn’t think Atobe suited me. After I changed, we stepped into the tennis court. There were three groups of PoT cosplayers, and they were surprisingly looking at me. Because I was the only one guy who cosplayed PoT. Having said that, I must say I could really enjoy cosplaying Atobe because it was kind of easier for me to act him rather than Tedsuka. Atobe always has a self-confident look on his face. You can say it’s ドヤ顔[doyagao]. I think I fall for someone like Atobe. Maybe because I am totally different from him. I think I want to be like him. Note that this cosplay is based on the original comic, not the anime, which means the hair color is light-brown, not grey. Oh yes, I have to mention one more thing; look at the mole beneath my right eye. We say this 泣きボクロ[naki bokuro]. You might have seen this on your favorite character. And needless to say, if you feel fetish for this, you have 泣きボクロ萌え[nakibokuro-moe].

 I shall dedicate this cosplay to my internet friend, tasukihoneybunny who is a big fangirl of PoT. Enjoy, 俺様の美技に酔いな.

俺様の美技に酔いな!

Series: Prince of Tennis [テニスの王子様]

Character: Atobe Keigo [跡部景吾]

Cosplayer: bangin

Photographer: Kei-chan, Sana-chan

24 Comments

  1. rozzu said,

    bangin saaan…. you seem very charismatic…kyaaaa…

    • bangin said,

      Ahaha, charismatic?^^

  2. tasukihoneybunny said,

    *spurt and thud* *passes out from major blood loss*

    I LOVE YOU BANGIN!!

    Atobe is the my favorite non-seigaku player!!
    Kawaii! Kawaii!!

    I have a light gray wig for my Atobe cosplay!

    *HUGS and more Hugs* <3 <3

    • bangin said,

      I like Atobe, too.
      He is arrogant, but I adore him.^^
      Also, I like the actor who featured him on Tenimyu, but forgot his name.
      Thank you!!

      • tasukihoneybunny said,

        Kazuki Kato!!! He is my fav. Atobe from TeniMyu!!

        I <3 Teni Myu! Very Smexy!!!

      • bangin said,

        Yeah Kato Kazuki. I think he makes a good Atobe.

  3. [Cosplay] Prince of Tennis « Japanese words of anime fans, by … - cosplay said,

    [...] article: [Cosplay] Prince of Tennis « Japanese words of anime fans, by … This entry is filed under Uncategorized and tagged anime, archives, change, [...]

  4. k1 said,

    Awesome cosplay, bangin-san!

    I think PoT is quite well known around the world.
    I have the entire manga series in simplified chinese.

    • bangin said,

      Yeah I have seen the POT comics translated in Chinese!

  5. Filip said,

    Have I ever mentioned how much I love your cosplays? ^^ You make me like characters I’m not even a fan of.
    Even though I am more or less familiar with the manga, sadly only from English translation – there is no Polish release of PoT, which isn’t exactly any news :(
    I guess I can be really atracted to arrogant and narcissistic characters, as long as they are the arrogant-and-narcissistic-yet-deep-inside-actually-very-caring-and-kind-hearted type (something like Tony Stark, I guess?). I’m not sure Atobe is one though… I suppose characters like him are necessary to add some realism to the set – since it would be too perfect if there where too many soushoku danshi ;)

    • bangin said,

      Yep, Atobe grew up in UK. He was surrounded by mean teammates because he is Japanese. So he practiced so hard to surpass other players.
      He is arrogant, but actually so competitive and passionate!
      It’s no wonder that more girls come to him.^^

  6. cinnamon said,

    absolutely awsome to have you back in action, bangin-san! i was already getting really worried and missed you much! glad to have you around again:)

    • bangin said,

      Haha, I am always fine! Thank you!^^

  7. Khursten Santos (@khursten) said,

    OMG! Bangin! You look fantastic as Atobe!

    本間に俺様になったよ~!

    • bangin said,

      ははは、俺様をやっちまったよ!

  8. kloadheart said,

    i haven’t followed up on you in a long time and man, your cosplays just keep getting better and better <3
    keep it up!!!<333
    next time i check (hopefully soon…), i'm hoping to see more better cosplays or simple blogs from you, hahah(x

    • bangin said,

      Thank you very much!
      Yes please come again.^^

  9. ♛KittyMonkeyMonster♛ (@_Yonggie_) said,

    Oh!! COME ON!! WHY U LOOK SO HOT??! *o*
    Ehm.. hehe sorry if I’m litle bit hyper -___- u just look so really really cool on that pictures..
    Oh Gosh!!

    • bangin said,

      Ahaha, thank you!

  10. Mardy_96 said,

    ATOBE-SAMA!!!! .>O<
    It's been a long time hasn't it, Bangin-san? ^^
    I've been extremely busy since I got into a boarding school early this year, so NO computer, NO phone, NO fun… But I'm glad that I get to comment on your blog this time.
    Anyway, like always, you cosplay Atobe extremely well and succeeded in bringing the worshipped, filthy rich Atobe to life. Congrats on that! And please continue this great work and never stop!
    Good luck!:)

    • bangin said,

      Yes, it’s been a while.
      Oh so you started at the boarding school. So now how do you see my blog?
      Anyway, thank you for coming, and I am so glad you coming again.^^

      • Mardy_96 said,

        I’m on a holiday right now…^^
        Would not be able to comment for a few months after this… huhu… but I’ll try hard to visit whenever I can!

  11. aochan005 said,

    Great cosplay! Atobe is one of my favourite characters from Prince of Tennis!

    • bangin said,

      Oh thank you very much! I am glad you enjoyed my cosplay.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

