Nightmare in Akihabara

June 10, 2008 at 1:51 pm (general)

 Even if you are not an otaku, I think you would be sure of the nightmare in Akihabara where an insane man stabbed several people at random last Sunday afternoon. Tell me this is just a bad dream!! If you happened to be kindly worried about me, I must say I am okay. Hopefully, I was not there on the day, but at the local karaoke to clear my frustration. All of a sudden, a friend of mine called me, and she was so upset. She told me about the incident and two of our mutual friends were at the site at the moment. I immediately tried to ring them, but neither answered the phone. But after some calls, one of them finally answered and told me the both were okay. Even though I wasn’t there at that time, I was there before the day, around the same hour as the incident. What if it happened one day earlier?

 Following the incident, I got a lot of e-mails and phone calls from my friends to make sure I was okay. The news spread out so soon that even my friend in UK mailed me. I am working near Akihabara, so I went to the site next day. A lot of flowers were dedicated already…

 Now I am so scared, and really worried about what will happen after this in Akihabara. I guess the main boulevard woundn’t be blocked off as a walkers’ paradise for a while, and the police would be patrolling more strictly. Nowhere is safe, you know. Anyway, as for the murderer, it needs more investigation. But what I want to know is that he is actually an otaku or not. If he is, the media would paint a dark image on otakus like they did so when Miyazaki Incident happened. If he is not, why did he choose Akihabara? He came all the way from Shizuoka Prefecture in order to kill people? Anyone should be fine? No reason? Did he think it is okay to kill otakus? What deserves to die is not otakus, but him.

 I can’t help but praying for people who had to leave this world…Ah, rest in peace, rest in peace…

* All the photos are taken by the certain writer I work with.

12 Comments

  1. DannyHibiki said,

    This whole thing is horrible. I feel so sorry for the victims and their families, and I hope that they are somehow able to get through this.

    I hope the Japanese media doesn’t focus on whether he was otaku or not. The real focus should be on how to help those that are mentally ill. From the news reports I have read, this man simply could not deal with the problems he had everyday.

  2. bangin said,

    Yes, he was tired of the reality, and decided to kill anybody. It doesn’t make any sense. But this I-want-to-kill-people incident is getting remarkable. As far as I am aware, this is the third one this year. The first happened in Shinagawa, the second in Tsuchiura, and third is this…Things are getting horrible as it goes.

  3. w said,

    I’m glad to know you are ok. It’s quite a terrifying event for an otherwise peaceful Japan isn’t it… I really send out my greatest sympathies to the people who lost their lives, even if my sympathy probably doesn’t matter much.

    What I hate is how some media outlets just *have* to bring up utterly irrelevant connections to this incident and anime/manga/games. They’re just covering up the real, painful reason that he had mental problems, and society did not realise this and help him for it. People with Aspergers’ and such have a hard time in life as it is, but my guess is in Japanese (or well, at least in Asian societies afaik) society they wouldn’t be considered as needing help or understanding, but as losers who are just making excuses to cover up for their pathetic inadequacy. I know cos for a while I have to admit I used to think some of those so-called mental or psychological disorders were just made up by Western psychiatrists/psychologists to give losers an excuse to continue acting dumb, but some people honestly want to improve but have great problems with social integration and stuff…

    I have no idea whether the killer had all these problems or what, and I know some people will just do this even if they get ‘help from society’, but I think the real problem is his mental state of mind! From Tsutomu Miyazaki onwards all these unthinking people have been assuming “otaku = has psychological/social problems” – even if there’s some link, I’d say it’s that *because* they have those problems they may turn to anime/manga as an outlet (alternatively there are SO many other things that they can and do use), not that those who like anime/manga are necessarily off in the head!

    Also, I have a question, I was reading some hateful posts about him on 2ch and came across this word: 構ってちゃん. What does this mean? I tried googling it but I’m not 100% sure – I’m guessing it means someone who’s always crying out for attention? I guess it might be insensitive or out of place to ask here but if you could tell me I would be grateful.

  4. w said,

    Okay, I realise I just assumed he had mental problems in one paragraph and said I don’t know in the next. The truth is I don’t know, but I really think he must have had something to think “I want to kill people”. I’m not a psychologist in the least bit so I wouldn’t know what really though…

    Wish he didn’t pick Akihabara though.

    PS: I’m going to sound utterly rude here and make some corrections to your post if you don’t mind:

    matual × mutual ○
    were the site × were at the site ○
    What if one day had been forth? × (I don’t know what the sentence is supposed to be, but are you trying to say “What if it happened one day earlier?”)
    Followed the incident × Following the incident ○
    worried about afterward × worried about what will happen after this (?) ○

    Sorry to nitpick or whatever, I just felt like doing it suddenly. It’s entirely understandable if you’re tired and stressed out from work and made mistakes though, goodness knows if I tried to write a blog post in Japanese there’d be a goldmine of mistakes each time and I’d sound completely unintelligible at parts…

  5. bangin said,

    The police failed to protect the innocent people again. This kind of incident already happened a while ago, and the murderer is almost the same age as this case’s killer. Then before, as far as I am aware it was the first case this year, the killer was 17 or so. All of the three have almost the same motivation that they got tired of the reality and wanted to kill somebody. Until the second case, the media didn’t blame otakus, but I am not sure how this time goes…because this incident happened in Akihabara. To accuse of otakus including anime, manga, or games changes nothing, so I think what really needs is to understand such psychopathetic young people.

    構ってちゃん means Ms/Mr. Attention which means a person who does something weird to get as much attention as he/she can. In this case, the killer reportedly had a terrible argument on the board and implied what he was up to. This is a bit diiferent from this, but here’s another word ジサクジエン. To assist your own thread by yourself as if someone else follows.

    Thanks for correcting, but whether I am tired doesn’t matter since I always make mistakes. ;)

  6. DannyHibiki said,

    Ha ha, well to put it in English net slang, he really does seem like an “attention whore.”

    Just because mr. attention gave up on society, doesn’t mean he gets to ruin other people’s lives. Still though, I think we should do more to help these people instead of looking down on them, it obviously doesn’t help.

  7. Avplaya said,

    Wow, Bangin-dono, I feel your pain. I will take time to pray for those killed in Buddhist manner. This must be tough of all Akiba Otakus. I have read that this killer is kind of otaku, said to be into 2D girls only and have played eroge; the media will use this to further darken the image of the otaku. Sigh…. This happens just as an anime OST reaches #3 in Oricon chart too. Om Mani Peme Hum.

  8. Fritzs said,

    This killer is undoubtly an otaku and sadly that’s the whole reason why he choosed akihabara…

  9. Neohybrid_kai said,

    Ah, this is so sad, I believe that murders can happen anywhere by anyone but why does when the criminal is an otaku (it looks to me that) they always exaggerating stuff? it looks like society just trying to put the blame on minority

  10. bangin said,

    DannyHibiki: After all, he turned out to be an otaku. As I thought, otaku’s image is getting darker. I think it needs another Messiah like Aso Taro or Shokotan to get back the clean otaku’s image. But this will not change for a while, I assume. Isn’t there any ways to help those potential criminals? How could we stop them?

    Avplaya-san&Fritz: He used to sing anime songs and get into 2D girls only. Oh God…right now, otaku is being blamed again. The important thing is not to accuse otaku, but pray for the victims and think about how we could try not to let another tragedy happen.

    Neohybrid_kai: Otaku tends to be targeted easily because people seem to think otaku is outcast. Everytime otakus do something, the media highlights it first.

  11. Wang said,

    Speaking of Taro Aso:

    Taro Aso would despise George W. Bush.

    Bush is a raging racist.

    Bush committed hate crimes of epic proportions and with the stench of terrorism (indicated in my blog).

    And I do solemnly swear by Almighty God that Bush committed other hate crimes of epic proportions and with the stench of terrorism which I am not at liberty to mention.

    Many people know what Bush did.

    And many people will know what Bush did—even to the end of the world.

    Bush was absolute evil.

    Bush is now like a fugitive from justice.

    Bush is a psychological prisoner.

    In any case, Bush will go down in history in infamy.

    Respectfully Submitted by Andrew Yu-Jen Wang, J.D. Candidate
    B.S., Summa Cum Laude, 1996
    Messiah College, Grantham, PA
    Lower Merion High School, Ardmore, PA, 1993

    (I can type 90 words per minute. In only 7 days, posts basically like this post of mine have come into existence—all over the Internet (hundreds of copies). One can go to Google right now, type “George W. Bush committed hate crimes of epic proportions and with the stench of terrorism,” hit “Enter,” and find more than 550 copies indicating the content of this post. All in all, there are probably more than 2,000 copies on the Internet indicating the content of this post—it has, in a way, become headline news. One cannot be too dedicated when it comes to anti-Bush activities. As I looked back at my good computer work, I thought how fun and easy it was to do it.)

    “GEORGE W. BUSH IS THE WORST PRESIDENT IN U.S. HISTORY” BLOG OF ANDREW YU-JEN WANG
    _________________
    I am not sure where I had read it before, but anyway, it goes kind of like this: “If only it were possible to ban invention that bottled up memories so they never got stale and faded.” Oh wait—off the top of my head—I think it came from my Lower Merion High School yearbook.

  12. [Cosplay] Pandora Hearts Ⅱ « Japanese words of anime fans, by anime fans, for anime fans said,

    [...] to the event. I wonder if they think Japan is dangerous because there was, as you may know, the landmark incident. I know the news spread out all over the world. But even that, Mitsuki-san spoke to me, and they [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

